Tags

, , , , , , ,

Scarlett Johansson is a young, beautiful and talented actress, and sometime singer.  I had planned on doing a post on her sooner than later but decided to do one tonight because I had discussed girl crushes with my cousin and Scarlett is hers:)  And, frankly, it’s no wonder.  She is rather lushly gorgeous, isn’t she?  I do love her glamorous take on the red carpet and her Dolce & Gabbana ads are fantastic, even if they are completely air brushed – aren’t most photo shoots at this point anyway?  They might as well put a disclaimer on every ad out there, much like they now do for the mascara ads where they have to disclose that the models are wearing false eyelashes – shocking! I particularly enjoy when she channels old Hollywood glamour, no surprise on that one, I am sue!  I think that the retro style is extremely flattering on her and by now I’m sure that anyone who has read any of these posts knows that I love lots of liner (cat’s eye is a favourite) and lipstick!  Love it!  I also love when her stylists do retro styled hair and I wish that they would stick to that instead of playing around with strangely hair sprayed caught in a wind tunnel updo (and that’s not to say that I have any issues with big hair because I do not, I am obsessed with it)!

She’s also played around with hair colour a great deal in the last few years and I’m undecided as to which I like best.  I love the ultra blonde in the D&G ads but I also love some of the darker hair pictures.  Classically indecisive, I realize, but I think that it comes down to the red carpet styling in that, much like the rest of us, some days are better than others and the right hair and make-up style can elevate any look.

Scarlett has been in lots of great movies and has been acting since she was a child.  Does anyone else recall “The Horse Whisperer“?  Obviously, not all of her movies can be great ones but she started to gain a lot of attention after “Lost in Translation” and “Girl with the Pearl Earring“, which were both critically acclaimed films.  She has also been very busy as a spokesmodel for various companies who have used her sex appeal to its best advantage, as you will see in the pictures below.

I quite love this look and I like her darker blonde hair here.  I really like this dress, I think.

Pixiwoo 10 minute Scarlett Johansson make-up tutorial

Academy Awards 2011 in Dolce & Gabbana.  I actually like the bronze/rust smokey eye and I don’t mind the disheveled bob.  I’m just not sure that this is how I would choose to dress her…the back of this dress is quite sexy though, that said.  I just don’t think that it puts some of her best assets at their best.

Scarlett Johansson with Short Blonde Hair

LA Premiere of “Vicky Christina Barcelona” in 2008, wearing Monique Lhuillier.  I wanted to like this, I like the colour of the dress and I like the hair and make-up but what is going on with the necklace?  I don’t like it…

“Iron Man 2” Premiere 2010 in Armani Privé.  This I do really love and I don’t normally like the architectural type gowns.  I think that it helps that her hair and make-up are so pretty.

Golden Globes  – I’m not sure of the year but this is so classic Hollywood, it almost looks like you could make it black and white and say that it was the 1950s…

2008 Met’s Costume Institute Gala in Dolce & Gabbana.  I’m not sure what they were aiming for here, it’s disheveled princess meets sexed up ballerina.  Maybe with different hair and lose the tiara?  I’m just not sure.

2006 Golden Globes in Valentino.  I believe that this was the famed red carpet dress in which Isaac Mizrahi touched her breasts while interviewing her on the red carpet for E! 

Dolce & Gabbana’s gorgeous cosmetics and perfume ad campaigns:

scarlett-johansson-dolce-gabbana-ad-1.jpg

SCARLETT-JOHANSSON

Dolce & Gabbana ad campaign

Moet ad campaigns

Mango Ad

Scarlett Johansson

When did she work for Calvin Klein? I actually do not remember this…

The 2007 ads for Louis Vuiton

At about the same time as the Louis Vuitton ads, she was also modeling for L’Oreal

In Dolce & Gabbana.  I love everything about this look, I even love her dark hair here and I hadn’t thought that I like here with dark hair.  I love the dress, too.

Scarlett Johansson

Tony Awards 2010 for which she won Best Actress in a Play for Arthur Miller’s “A View from the Bridge”

In Elie Saab

2011 Golden Globe Awards in Elie Saab

Ah, the crazy wind swept hair look.  I enjoy some crazy updos but this one was perhaps a bit too runway for the red carpet.  Also, I love Elie Saab’s romantic gowns but I feel like this one downplays her gorgeous person rather than enhancing it…

Premiere of “We Bought a Zoo” in New York.  Another retro look, which means I love it.  Not everyone will love or get the hair but I really enjoy it!

Scarlett Johansson Scarlett Johansson attends the red carpet premiere of her new film "We Bought a Zoo", held at the Ziegfeld Theater in New York City.

2010 MTV Movie Awards

Pixiwoo Scarlett inspired make-up tutorial

Premiere of “The Other Boleyn Girl” at the Berlin Film Festival.  How much do I love this dress?  A whole lot – I think that I might covet it.  I also love, love, love her make-up here.

This particular look made me think that it was very Charlize Theron with the 30s style hair and the matte red lip.

Naturally, Scarlett has been on the cover of many magazines…

Glamour France 2010 photo shoot

Vogue Paris photo shoot – this photo shoot makes the dark hair look amazing!

For my cousin Jill, who loves this video and inspired the post – because she loves Justin and Scarlett and because we both love Scarlett’s hair and make-up in this one!

Justin Timberlake’s “What Goes Around Comes Around”, it’s the full length video

For those who were unaware, or chose to forget, Scarlett also put out several albums

“Falling Down”