Tags

, , , , , , ,

Is anyone else excited about seeing “Snow White and the Huntsman“?  I know that I am and, for the most part it’s due to Charlize Theron as the evil Queen.  Her make-up and wardrobe look pretty incredible from what I’ve seen…the costumes for the film are designed by Colleen Atwood.

Theron has been the face of J’Adore by Dior for years and there is a very good reason for this:  one can sell pretty much anything when you look like this.  One of the benefits of being gorgeous and being an accomplished actress and model is that you can convey seductive extremely well.  I would say that the house of Dior has gotten their money’s worth with her.  Not to mention that she frequently wears Dior on the red carpet and looks exceedingly glamorous while she’s at it.

Golden Globe Awards 2012 Make-up and Gown by Dior

I’ve read a lot of critiques of this look and a lot of people are hating the headband. The common argument seems to be that no one over the age of 10 should be wearing one.  I disagree because it is about an overall look.  It’s retro chic. It is a fact that woman of various ages wore headbands in many different eras as an accessory, a statement piece, just as you would wear jewelry.  Grecian and Roman women wore ribbons/headbands, I believe that they were common in the Regency period in Europe, as well as in the 1920s, 1930s and again in the 1960s.  It’s not like as if she’s going to the gym or using it to keep her hair off of her face because she’s growing out her hair…

CHARLIZE'S COMPLEXION photo | Charlize Theron

Critics Choice Awards 2012 Alaia Haute Couture

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

Beautiful hair and make-up while promoting “Young Adult”

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

Gotham Independent Film Awards – Gucci dress

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

Theron’s make-up is always neutral eye, vibrant lipstick or vice versa; she never does both.

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

in Givenchy – I love these colours, makes me think of ’70s glam

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

in Dior – this is a very ladylike, old Hollywood look, I think

CHARLIZE THERON photo | Charlize Theron

She’s had many hairstyles, from short to long, dark to very light blonde, wavy or straight and she pretty much always looks amazing.  I am particularly partial to her mid-length wavy hair and I love the retro waves and wish that I could duplicate that particular look.  She also plays around with make-up a great deal, from tanned and bronze, to smoky eyes, to a bold lip or just soft all over make-up.  She seems to be as beautiful with natural make-up as she is with lots of make-up.  What I admire about her fashion is that she seems to understand that it is part of her job to look glamorous at red carpet events and she always evokes old Hollywood glamour (albeit sometimes more successfully than others).  I love when she is styled in a 20s/30s retro look, whether it be flapper-esque or just all out glam.  I am always interested to see what she wears on the red carpet because she is rarely, if ever boring.

Charlize Theron Curly Hair

Charlize Theron Black Hair

Charlize Theron Hair Up

Charlize Theron Short Hair

2000 Academy Awards

Charlize Theron appeared in a brilliant tangerine-hued gown at the 2000 Academy Awards.

Golden Globe Awards 2004

Charlize looks feminine and romantic at Golden Globe Award 2004.

Esquire named Charlize the Sexiest Woman Alive in 2007.

Academy Awards 2005 I believe that the gown is Dior and it is gorgeous

Theron received her own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame on September 30, 2005

Academy Awards 2004 – I do think that someone went overboard with the self-tanner or whatever it was (it was more than a tad bit orange) but I do love the intention of this look.  It would have been beautiful without it…

Some Oscar dresses that I did not love so much:

2006 – Dior.  Apparently it was black, I thought it was dark green, regardless it’s not the colour that I dislike, it’s the strange ‘x’ marks the spot happening in the general crotch area.  I also don’t care for the shoulder bow though I am aware that it was very trendy on couture gowns at the time.  I normally adore voluminous hair but this particular look was one that I did not enjoy on Charlize – it was just a bit too poufy or something.  I hate to say it but it looks like something I could do at home, which means that it’s not the best red carpet look.  It’s alright, I still think that you are gorgeous Charlize.

2010 – Dior.  I would have loved it if it weren’t for those rosettes on the boobs.  I just don’t understand it.  That said, it was far from boring…

Make-up tutorials:

Golden/bronze make-up tutorial by Pixiwoo:

Dark smokey eye tutorial by Pixiwoo:

gold/peachy (softer look) make-up tutorial by Pixiwoo:

 

