Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Lea Michelle in Marchesa

She’s lovely, very talented and her body looks killer but I’m not sure that I love this look for her.  I hate to say it but I feel like it’s too much of a mature look for her.  Let’s just say that we’ve seen it done better.

Reese Witherspoon in Zac Posen

I love Reese Witherspoon.  She looks fabulous in red and she appears to be quite glowingly happy but this isn’t her best red carpet look.

Diana Agron in Giles Deacon

She looks great in red, as well, and the bodice is interesting but this dress is too much for her.  Perhaps if the bottom half were more simple or vice versa…

Jessica Alba in Gucci

She looks gorgeous and, dare I say, golden.  A lot of people appeared to be very tanned but Jessica’s skin looks amazing.  I like the style of the dress a lot, even though I would prefer more colour.

Madonna in Reem Acra

Let me just say that Madonna’s arms are amazing.  I watched her present an award and her arms are impressive.  I’m not a fan of this dress from the waist down, it just feels like two different dresses to me.  Her hair and make-up are beautiful though.

Mila Kunis in Christian Dior

I think that Mila Kunis is incredibly beautiful and the dress itself is gorgeous so I’m not quite sure why it doesn’t impress me more.  I hate to say it because I love, love, love black but it’s a bit boring when she has worn some great colours on the red carpet previously.

Heidi Klum in Calvin Klein

I would have said that this dress was boring with the exception of the great pop of colour on the neckline and the sexy back.  Of course, it’s Heidi Klum and she can make a sack look pretty great…

Michelle Williams in Jason Wu

Is it just me or is she always covered up, very ladylike and demure?  Not that there is anything wrong with that.  I like the blue colour and on television, the print looked slightly animal print, which I like, as well.  From the front I really like the headband, I just didn’t like that it was a full wrap around and that you could see it is the back because her hair is very short.

Emma Stone in Lanvin

I love Emma Stone on the red carpet.  It probably helps that she seems so likeable and funny in interviews, etc.  I love the colours of this dress on her, I think that it’s quite striking with her skin and hair.  I love her make-up, with the strong, winged out shadow.  It’s a beautiful dress on her…

Jessica Biel in Elie Saab

Now, I have a bit of a girl crush on Jessica Biel – I think that she is a natural beauty, has a killer body (which I know that she works hard for) and yes, she has Justin Timberlake so, yes, I am jealous on all fronts.  I didn’t like this dress when I found the first picture but when I saw the back, I thought it was beautiful with the way the lace is gathered and the jewelry is very pretty.  I think that her hair should have been worn up though.  Is it just me or is the bottom half see through?

Helen Mirren in Badgley Mischka

I absolutely love Helen Mirren.  I aspire to look as good as she does some day, she has aged so impeccably and is so phenomenally gorgeous.  I love the colour of this gown on her and while I initially was certain of the texture of the skirt, I have decided that it is interesting.  I love the belted detail, the v-neck, it’s beautiful.

Tina Fey in Oscar de la Renta

I think that she is supremely funny and intelligent.  I think that she is beautiful but I am not liking this dress.  The colour might have been alright but I just don’t like the style on her.  She needs a stylist who can pick out a better silhouette.

Amy Poehler in Naeem Khan

I want to like this because I like her but it’s boring and the colour, with the high neck and sleeve, is just too much with her very blonde hair.  If it had been a bright colour, it might have been an improvement.

Maya Rudolph in David Meister

Another very funny lady but this is a boring dress.  I think that the shape is all wrong for her.  This dress makes her look frumpy which we all know she is not.

Amber Riley in Badgley Mischka

She looks great.  I think that I love everything about this look.  Her hair and make-up look terrific and she looks smashing in red.  I love this dress on her, it does wonderful things for her figure and it’s probably the best I’ve seen her look.

Kate Winslet in Jenny Packham

II love her and I love her style.  I even love this dress, though I know I could never wear it.  It is gorgeous on her.  I also love her soft hair and make-up.

Busy Phillips in Temperley of London

Busy is rocking a retro look, complete with big hair, which I love.  I love a one shouldered gown but I wish I could get a better look at the fringe on this dress…

Meryl Streep in Alessandra Rich

Does she have a stylist?  I’m thinking that she doesn’t.  She needs one.  I know that she doesn’t care, that she is immensely talented and doesn’t seem to care about these things but still, she needs a stylist.

Natalie Portman in Lanvin

This dress is so much better than last year’s Oscar dress.  This is very Hepburn to me and suits her very much.  Plus, I think that the colour is great.

Nicole Kidman in Versace

I saw her present an award with Clive Owen (why did he not speak a word?  Not that he needs to, I just like to look at him but still…) and I thought that this dress made her look like she has some curves which is awesome.  She sometimes looks so scary thin…but whoever designed this dress constructed it very well.  The colour looks a bit boring here but it looked good on tv, I thought.

Tilda Swinton in Haider Ackermann

Is it wrong that I actually think that she looks pretty great?  I quite like this dress on her, it makes her look extremely feminine, especially considering that she is known for such an androgynous look.  The colour is lovely for her and a bit of a departure since she likes black, white and dark colours normally.  Her hair appears a bit strange but it’s Tilda Swinton…

Julianne Moore in Chanel

I always think that she is gorgeous, even if it’s a bit boring.  I love the green earrings though and I think that the black is beautiful with her skin and hair.

Naya Riviera in Vera Wang

I think that she is stunning but I hate this dress.  Yes, hate is a strong word and I probably shouldn’t use it but the middle seem is pulling which detracts from everything.  The neckline is interesting but the fit just seems wrong so I’m disappointed.

Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace

I am not a big fan.  She is extremely beautiful, of course, but she looks like a wax mannequin from Mme. Tussaud’s.  And, my god, her arms look super tiny.  She must be too busy to eat.  I’m not a fan of the ultra white, though I do like the red.  Her make-up is beautiful though.

Kate Beckinsale in Roberto Cavalli

She is beautiful and in the way that Cavalli does, the dress makes the most of her assets.

Salma Hayek in Gucci

I feel like her hair is detracting from this gown.  The dress creates an interesting illusion but I’m not sure that I like the overall look.  Not that she could ever look bad…

Charlize Theron in Dior Couture

I really love this look.  She is pretty much always very glamorous and I love when she works some retro glam.  She looks gorgeous, I love it all.  The accessories are perfect from the shoes to the headband.  I also love the soft hair and make-up.

Evan Rachel Wood in Gucci

I really love this one, too.  I love the mix of textures and colours and I love the silhouette.  Beautiful.

Laura Linney

I love this colour on her but the fit seems off and it’s not as flattering as it should be.

Rooney Mara in Nina Ricci

I don’t dislike it, I know that she has been wearing a lot of cut outs so I’m not surprised that that is what she wore here.  It might have been nice to see a bit of colour.

Emily and Zoey Deschanel (Prada)

I really like the blue colour on Emily but the black shoes seem too heavy and I’m not sure about the style of the dress.  As for Zoey, she’s quirky so it stands to reason that her dress choice would reflect that.  I love the green and black and I like the retro styling of her hair and make-up.  The only thing I wasn’t sold on was the white collar detail on the dress…

Viola Davis in Pucci

This grecian style dress is beautiful on her.  Great fit, great colour.  She looks lovely.

Madeline Stowe

The colour is very pretty and flattering on her.  She looks as gorgeous as ever but I don’t feel like the style of dress does much for her body.

Diane Lane in Reem Acra

She looks classically lovely.  The dress is quite flattering and I like the pale gold.

Connie Nielsen

She’s beautiful but I’m not loving it.

Emily Watson in Giorgio Armani

Such a terrible colour choice here, it just washes her out and she has such beautiful skin.  It just makes the necklace look way to heavy around her neck.

Julie Bowen in Reem Acra

She’s working some old Hollywood glamour here and I like it.  She looks very soft and pretty, Grace Kelly-esque, I think and the style of gown is very feminine, making her look less angular.

Shailene Woodley in Marchesa

She’s a pretty girl but this looks awkward.  It’s just not flattering.  Is it ill fitting?  Everything looks like it needs to be hoisted up.  She’s so young, she should be wearing something bright and fun.

Freida Pinto in Prada

She’s gorgeous and this is a great colour but the dress itself isn’t that interesting.

Sofia Vergara in Vera Wang

She looks sensational and I’m surprised that she’s not in a warm colour.  I like the teal.  The fit is spectacular and so is the jewelry.  It might be nice to see her in a different style at some point though I understand the if it’s not broken you don’t fix it analogy…

Andie McDowell in David Meister

She is beautiful and there is nothing wrong with the dress, I just wish it were a different colour.

Melissa McCarthy in Badgley Mischka

She is hilarious and I like her a lot but I don’t like this look.  I love big hair and I get the concept of creating height with the hair but I don’t like the sleek sides.  I like the dark green colour of this dress but that’s about it.  Maybe she needs to talk to Amber Riley’s stylist…

Elle MacPherson in Zac Posen

She’s a supermodel so she can work a dress and she looks great.  We’ve seen a lot of this style though.

Debra Messing

I think that she looks beautiful and I enjoy seeing her on the red carpet.  It’s a very nice, black dress but there’s nothing more I can say about it.  I quite like her hair and make-up though.

Stacy Keibler

George Clooney’s eye candy looks great in red.  She looks lovely and tasteful.

Glenn Close in Armani Prive

She needs to talk to Helen Mirren’s people.  There’s nothing wrong with this look, it’s just not fabulous.

Kelly MacDonald

This colour is gorgeous with the sequins and she is lovely so what happened?  I’m thinking that she did her own hair…

Sarah Michelle Geller in Monique Lhuillier

My first instinct was that I dislike this dress but it is very interesting and it stands out because of the pattern.  Kudos to her for being brave enough to wear it.  People will talk about it…

Paula Patton in Monique Lhuillier

My sister didn’t like this one but I do.  I think that this yellow would be impossible for most people to wear but she looks beautiful.

Sarah Hyland in vintage Dolce & Gabbana

I am really liking this dress.  I think that she’s got Lea Michelle beat on this one.  This is just really pretty and I like the bit of black lace detail.

Jessica Chastain in Givenchy

This is the second dress in the last few days that I have not liked.  It’s not as bad as the pink atrocity from the Critics Choice Awards but if it were black it would create such great contrast with her skin and hair.  I like the halter neck very much and the fit is great – it’s Givenchy! but I just can’t love the white.

Morena Baccarin in Edition by Georges Chakra

She’s gorgeous but I just don’t get this one.

Missi Pyle

This is bad.  Is this chartreuse?  If it is, I’ve seen it done better on Nicole Kidman.  This makes me think prom or bridesmaid’s dress and that is unfortunate.

Taissa Farmiga

She is too young for this blah colour.  Her people need to talk to Ariel Winter’s people.

Amanda Peet

This is kind of beachy bohemian and she looks very pretty but I’m not sure that this is a red carpet dress.

Nicole Richie in Julien McDonald

Her hair and make-up are great (she even gave a red carpet shout out to Suave Professionals for her hair) and the dress makes her look petite yet curvy.

Ariel Winter in Dolce & Gabbana

This is a great colour and fabulous style for her.  She looks lovely and it is age appropriate.

Claire Danes in J. Mendel

Black and white is trendy and the back of this gown is stunning.  She looks beautiful.

Mireille Enos in Naeem Khan

I love her hair and make-up.  I saw her in the audience and thought she looked beautiful.  I want to like this gown but I’m not sold on the colour for her.  The style of it is great but yellow is so difficult to pull off.

Katherine McPhee in DKNY

This is such a beige look for such a beautiful girl.  She’s super tiny…

Julianna Margulies in Naeem Khan

I want to like this, I really do.  She’s gorgeous and I love the earrings.  I might like the colour if it were more saturated.  It looks sheer but I don’t think it is.  The awful part is that I know that she is very fit but this is doing nothing for her.  A little bit of structure in the bodice would go a long way.

Piper Perabo

If anyone saw her present an award with Sarah Michelle Gellar, you would have seen how sheer this dress is.  Not sure that you want to wear a sheer dress with black underwear to an awards show…unless you do.  She’s beautiful but this dress is awful from the colour, to the shape, to the material, it’s just not good from the shoulders down.

Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan

Well, they are both young and gorgeous.  The colour of this dress I absolutely love and the construction of the bodice with the draping of the skirt is beautiful.  I don’t think that this dress is actually sheer, just made to look as though it were but if it is sheer, then it’s done well, unlike the above dress.

Kristen Wiig

I am really liking her dark hair, I think that it’s very striking on her.  I even like the nude colour of the dress.  This is nude done well, particularly with the heavier gold accessories.  She looks very pretty and the soft make-up is ultra flattering.

